• Headquarters Website
  • Contact Us
  • About Us
  • Programs
Your area field office:
Headquarters
Dropdown Arrow
search
  • California
  • CarolinasServing North and South Carolina
  • Central Great LakesServing Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio
  • Central MidwestServing Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, and Wisconsin
  • Hawaii
  • Headquarters
  • Kansas/Missouri
  • Louisiana/Mississippi
  • Mid-AtlanticServing D.C., Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia
  • Mountain WestServing Idaho, Montana, and Utah
  • Nevada
  • NortheastServing Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont
  • PA/DE/NJServing Pennsylvania, Delaware and New Jersey
  • Pacific NorthwestServing Alaska, Oregon, and Washington
  • Rocky MountainsServing Colorado and Wyoming
  • SoutheastServing Alabama, Florida, and Georgia
  • Southern PlainsServing Texas, Oklahoma, and Arkansas
  • Tennessee/Kentucky

Operation Homefront Selects Three Veterans For Mortgage-Free Homes From Meritage

Operation Homefront has selected three military families to receive newly-built mortgage-free homes from Meritage Homes Corporation. The energy-efficient Meritage homes are located in Goodyear, Ariz., outside of Phoenix; Cary, N.C., outside of Raleigh; and Converse, Texas, outside of San Antonio. Each one of the homes will be unveiled to the families in November during the week leading up to Veterans Day.

In Goodyear, Ariz. Army Sergeant Richard Neider, II, his wife Kerry, and their two children will be moving into the first home that they have owned as a family. The 2,278 square foot home will provide the family of four a place to grow, and living in a home with ADA compliant features will allow Sgt. Neider to use his wheelchair inside the house.

Born and raised in North Carolina, Army Sergeant Jeffrey Lynch was selected to receive a 2,066 square foot home in Cary, N.C. The home is just half an hour away from Duke University, where Jeffrey receives specialized medical treatment. Both Jeffrey and his wife Christy have family nearby in Fayetteville, and the couple are parents of a four-year-old daughter.

Army Sergeant Aaron Kumamoto was selected to receive the new 1,508 square foot home in Converse, Texas. Aaron and his wife Erica have lived in the San Antonio area for six years. The new home will provide the family with a place of their own, close to San Antonio Military Medical Center, where Aaron receives his medical treatment. The couple is also looking forward to keeping their son Logan close to their family and friends.

“It’s very rare that I get tears in my eyes, but somebody found a way to do it,” said Neider. “It’s amazing that somebody was willing to do something like this for me. It’s just amazing.”

Each one of the veterans was selected based on a number of qualifications including, but not limited to, family needs and ties to the community. These homes are the first three newly-built homes provided through Operation Homefront’s Homes on the Homefront program. Tim Farrell, the organization’s Chief Operating Officer, says that working with Meritage is a major opportunity for the program to serve military families in a new way.

“Our partnership with Meritage Homes will allow us to not only extend our Homes on the Homefront program into new waters, but most importantly allow three military families to own brand new homes,” said Farrell. “It’s an exciting time for each of the families, as well as our team at Operation Homefront, as we look forward to handing over the keys to the homes in November.”

Meritage Homes’ contribution to the Homes on the Homefront program has already made a major impact on military families, but will not stop at just the three homes. Meritage employees will also take part in a “Sweat Equity” campaign designed to assist Operation Homefront in numerous areas throughout the country. Volunteers at each of Meritage’s 13 offices across the nation will assist local Operation Homefront field offices in various volunteer opportunities.

“We recognize and appreciate the sacrifices of our brave men and women serving in America’s armed forces,” said Steven J. Hilton, chairman and CEO of Meritage Homes. “Together with our suppliers and trade partners who are participating with us in this program, we are delighted to provide these homes to the Neider, Lynch and Kumamoto families.”

For more information about the Operation Homefront and Meritage Homes partnership, please visit http://www.HomesontheHomefront.org/Highlights or www.MeritageHomes.com.

Special thanks to the following businesses that donated goods or services to one or more of the homes:

20/20 insight (TX)

84 Lumber (TX) – http://84lumber.com/ 

America Roofing –  http://www.americaroofingtx.com/ 

Arizona Complete Ornamental Iron – http://www.azironsupply.com/ 

Arizona Tile – http://www.arizonatile.com/ 

Armstrong – http://www.armstrong.com/ 

Austin Electric Services, LLC. – http://www.austinelectricservices.com/ 

Aztec Lighting – http://www.shopazteclighting.com/ 

blink Facility Solutions— http://blinkfacilitysolutions.com/blinkfacilitysolutions.com/ 

 

Bayer/Key (TX)

BFS (TX)

BMC (TX)

BMC/ThermaTru (TX)

 

Boise Cascade Engineered Wood Products— http://www.bc.com/index.html 

BORAL – http://www.boralna.com/ 

Bowden Contracting

BSB Design – http://www.bsbdesign.com/ 

BSG

Builders FirstSource – http://www.bldr.com/ 

Building Materials and Construction Services – http://buildwithbmc.com/ 

Carrier – http://www.carrier.com/carrier/en/us/ 

Casa Mechanical Services – http://casamechanical.com/ 

Choate USA – http://choateusa.com/ 

Circle B Grading & Hauling

City of Converse – http://www.conversetx.net/ 

Contractors Termite & Pest Control, Inc.

CPS Energy – http://www.cpsenergy.com/ 

Crete-A-Tive Décor – http://crete-a-tivedecor.com/ 

Eric Davis (TX)
Eagle Roofing Products – http://www.eagleroofing.com/ 

Ei Energy Inspectors

ELITE Flooring – http://www.elitefloor.com/ 

Emser Tile – http://www.emser.com/ 

Fashion Glass and Mirror (TX) – http://www.fashionglass.com/  

Final Touch (TX)
GDS
Genie

Gerber Professional Performance – http://www.gerberonline.com/default.aspx 

Goodman Air Conditioning & Heating – http://www.goodmanmfg.com/Home.aspx 

Gothic Landscaping – http://gothiclandscape.com/ 

Green Guard – http://www.greenguard.org/en/index.aspx 

Hart Components (TX) – http://hartlumber.com/hart-components/ 

Hearth & Home Technologies – http://www.hearthnhome.com/ 

Heat & Glo – http://www.heatnglo.com/Landing-Pages/Offer-Landing-Page-GetStarted.aspx?gclid=CN2xxtqs5LkCFYWf4AodHTMALg 

Heatilator – http://www.heatilator.com/ 

Heritage Interiors – http://www.heritageinteriors.com/ 

K.R.M. Concrete & Construction (TX) – http://krmconcreteandconstructioninc.com/ 

Key Insulation – http://www.keyinsulation.com/main/index.php 

Lodi Garage Doors and More – http://www.lodidoor.com/ 

Paul Johnson Drywall, Inc. – http://pauljohnsondrywall.com/
MarLam Industries – http://www.marlam.com/ 

Mastercraft Plumbing (TX) – http://www.mastercraftplumbingtx.com/ 

MSF Electric, Inc. (TX) – http://www.msfelectric.com/ 

Nexia Home Intelligence – http://www.nexiahome.com/nexiahome.aspx 

Pest Shield Pest Control, Inc.— http://www.sanantonio-pestcontrol.com/ 

ProTeX – http://protex-az.com/ 
Quick Roofing (TX) – http://www.quickroofing.com/locations.php 

Rock Solid

Samons Bros. Framing Inc

San Antonio Fence (TX)

Shaw Floors (TX) – http://shawfloors.com/ 

Sierra Stucco

Simpson Strong-Tie – http://www.strongtie.com/ 

T & D Moravits (TX)— http://tdmoravits.com/ 

Texas Curb Cut (TX) – http://www.texascuttingandcoring.com/ 

Therma Tru Doors – http://www.thermatru.com/ 

Timberlake Cabinetry (TX) – http://www.timberlake.com/ 

TrusJoist Engineered Wood Products

Venetian Marble & Granite (TX) – http://venetiancountertops.com/ 

Veritas Building & Energy Consultants (TX) – http://www.veritasbuildingconsultants.com/ 

Wayne Dalton (garage doors) – http://commercial.wayne-dalton.com/home.asp?gclid=CMmJ5oux5LkCFcOj4AodUw8A_A 

Whirlpool Corporation (TX) – http://www.whirlpoolcorp.com/ 

Windsor Excavating 

Wisenbaker Builder Services, Inc. (TX) – http://www.wisenbaker.com/ 

Younger Brothers Development – http://www.youngerbrothers.com/